Iowa January Antlerless Deer Licenses Now on Sale

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

Licenses are now available to residents for the January 11 - 30, 2011, antlerless deer season. Licenses will likely be available in 38 counties where the antlerless license quota has not been filled. Nonresidents may begin purchasing January antlerless licenses on Jan. 11, 2011.

The open counties include Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Cass, Clarke, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Fayette, Fremont, Guthrie, Harrison, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Lucas, Madison, Mills, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Winneshiek and Woodbury.

Hunters may participate in the January antlerless season, regardless of any other deer license they have obtained. Shotguns, handguns, muzzleloaders and bows may be used. Center-fire rifles may be used during the entire January antlerless season in the following counties: Mills, Fremont, Montgomery, Page, Adams, Taylor, Union, Ringgold, Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Wayne, Monroe, Appanoose, Wapello, Davis, Jefferson, Van Buren, Henry, Lee and Des Moines.

Hunters are required to wear one of the following articles of external, visible, solid blaze orange if hunting with a firearm: vest, jacket, coat, sweatshirt, sweater, shirt or coveralls. An orange hat alone is not sufficient.