Annual Draw for Moose Licences

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

The names of 345 hunters will be drawn on Tuesday, June 13, qualifying them for the annual moose hunt in Victoria and Inverness counties in Cape Breton.

The annual public draw of moose licences will be held at 10:30 a.m. at the Inverary Resort, Baddeck.

Available licenses are distributed within three hunting periods and four moose management zones within Victoria and Inverness counties. The seasons this year are from Sept. 25 to Sept. 30 (Monday through Saturday); Oct. 2 to Oct. 7 (Monday through Saturday); and Dec. 12 to 14 (Tuesday through Thursday) in Zone 1 only, north of Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

A total of 10,260 applications were received for the 2006 moose hunt. Shortly after the draw, results will be posted on the moose draw website at Successful licence holders will be notified by mail. They will also receive a licence kit this summer to make sure they understand the rules and regulations around this year’s hunt.

The Department of Natural Resources continues to work with Mi'kmaw communities on a management plan for the aboriginal hunt.