51 Minnesota Schools Receive Archery Grants from DNR

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has awarded grants to 51 schools to purchase archery equipment. The grants, which are part of Minnesota's National Archery in the Schools Program, enable schools to acquire state of the art archery gear at a greatly reduced cost.

Minnesota, which launched the physical education based archery program last year, had the largest pilot in the country when it enrolled 50 schools. The grant program has enabled the state to double the size and scope of this program.

According to Ryan Bronson, the DNR's recruitment and retention supervisor, archery's popularity with teachers and students has made expansion of the program much easier.

"There is something magical about releasing that first arrow and hitting the target," Bronson said. "They can't help but smile when they realize that they can do this."

Providing high-quality equipment at a low cost is just part of the program. The DNR also provides teacher training so that instructors can learn how to effectively and safely teach archery.

"After the training session, even novices have the tools to effectively teach archery," Bronson said.

"Archery is a lifetime sport," Bronson explained. "We want to teach these beginning shooters the fundamentals of archery form so that they can build on them for a lifetime of recreational or competitive shooting."

The DNR is also encouraging schools to establish after school archery programs. Several schools have started archery clubs and many more are working with existing archery clubs to provide youth leagues. The 4-H shooting sports program is an active partner with many other school programs.

Schools participating in the National Archery in the Schools Program are eligible to compete in the State Archery in the Schools Tournament, which will be held April 1 in Sartell.


Andover High School
Annandale High School
Anoka High
Braham High School
Cloquet Christian Academy
Cook County High School
Coon Rapids High School
Cromwell Wright School
Detroit Lakes High School
Evansville Pubic School
Fred Moore Middle School
Golden Hill ALC (Rochester)
Harmony ALC/John Glenn Middle Schools (Maplewood)
Henry Sibley High (Mendota Heights)
Hilltop Primary School (Westonka)
Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton School
Jordan High School
Lake City High School
Lake Park-Audubon School
Lakeville North High School
Lincoln High (Ivanhoe)
Maple River Schools
McGregor Schools
Minneapolis South High School
Morgan Park Middle School (Duluth)
Mountain Lake Public Schools
New York Mills High School
North Branch High School
North Junior High School (Hopkins)
Northome Schools
Ogilvie Public Schools
Parkers Prairie High School
Pillager Public Schools
Pine City Junior/Senior High School
Plainview Community Schools
Prairie Wind Middle School (Perham)
Red Lake County Elementary School
Red Lake County High School
Red Lake Middle School
Robbinsdale Middle School
ROC Charter High School (Rochester)
Roosevelt Middle School (Blaine)
St. Charles High School
Twin Bluff Middle School (Red Wing)
Two Harbors High School
Verndale Public School
Warren Alvarado Oslo High School
Watertown-Mayer Middle School
Woodbury Junior High School