18 Hunters Win Elk Permits for Upcoming 2006 Season

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

The highlight of the ninth annual Buffalo River Elk Festival was the drawing for 18 elk hunting permits awarded by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. Two other hunters obtained permits through fund-raising activities of the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation.

As in past seasons, this year's elk hunting will be on public lands of the Buffalo National River and the AGFC's Gene Rush Wildlife Management Area, as well as adjacent private lands within Elk Zones 1 through 4. The 2006 elk season will be again be broken into two segments: Sept. 25 to 29 and Dec. 4 to 8.

Just four of the hunters will be in the field in September. The other permits are for the December hunt, when weather will be cooler. One of the 18 permits for hunting in Elk Zones 1 through 4, mostly public land, was earmarked as a youth elk permit for a hunter under 16 years old. This is the fifth year for the youth elk permit.  Commissioners of the AGFC continue to look for chances to involve and encourage young people of the state to participate in hunting and fishing.

This permit is unique in another way, too. It specifies either-sex elk, meaning the hunter can kill either a bull elk or a cow elk. Since Arkansas elk hunting began in 1998, permits other than youth elk permits for elk hunting zones 1 through 4 have specified which kind of elk could be taken. The youth permit will be for the December segment of the 2006 elk hunt.

To be eligible to win the elk permit, youths must have successfully completed a hunter education course.

The September hunt will be by four winners of bull permits, two drawn Saturday and two others who were high bidders at fund-raising events sponsored by the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, which donates most of the proceeds to the Game and Fish Commission for elk program work.

Youth Elk Hunt Permit (December Hunt)
Tanner Nichols, Jonesboro, Zone 3, Either – Sex

September Bull Elk Hunt Permits
Charles Platt, Sherwood, Zone 1
Russell Brown, Dardanelle, Zone 2

December Bull Elk Hunt Permit
Derrek Nokes, Prescott, Zone 1
James Corley, Maumelle, Zone 2
Rachel Ornsbey, Rover, Zone 4

December Antlerless Elk Hunt Permits 
Zone 1
Eric Francis, Fayetteville
John Gillihan, Batesville
Woods, Huntsville

Zone 2
Roy Prouty, Mountain Home
William McCutcheon, Jacksonville
Belynda Bailey, Waldron

Zone 3
Chad Binz, Ozark
Larry Hopkins, Mountain View
Laura James, Garfield

Zone 4
Shane Cooper, Clarksville
Sheila Schulze, Elkins
Josiah Goodman, Green Forest

Permits purchased through auctions by the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation

Patrick Gilligan, San Francisco, Zone 3, Bull (September Hunt)
Walton Short, Magnolia, Zone 4, Bull (September Hunt)

The applications and permits were free, although a number of applicants sent donations earmarked for elk program work. Two separate permit elk hunts with a quota of five elk per hunt will be in a private land hunting zone in Newton, Boone and Carroll counties.