16 Day Statewide Deer Gun Season Left in Place

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

Members of the Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Commission debated rescinding the statewide extended deer gun season to provide a 16-day season in all counties except McCurtain and Pushmataha counties, but voted 6-2 to keep a statewide 16-day deer gun season. The action occurred at the Commission’s April 7 meeting.

Also at the April meeting, Commissioners voted to reject bids for the auction elk hunt on Cookson Hills Wildlife Management Area. Bidding will be reopened until July 1 with a $7,500 minimum bid.

The Wildlife Conservation Commission is the eight-member governing board of the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation. The Wildlife Commission establishes state hunting and fishing regulations, sets policy for the Wildlife Department, and indirectly oversees all state fish and wildlife conservation activities. Commission members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.