1,100 Antlerless Mule Deer Licences Available

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

Beginning Oct. 31st, 2005 Saskatchewan Environment will be offering 1,100 Antlerless Mule Deer Licences on a first-come, first-served basis.

"An antlerless mule deer is a doe or a fawn born in 2005," Saskatchewan Environment Stewardship Branch's Brenda Kelly said. "Because mule deer populations are high in the areas where licences are being offered, hunters are likely to enjoy success and, at the same time, help to manage game populations in these areas."

The licences are for Wildlife Management Zones (WMZs): 2E, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13W, 14W, 26, 28, 29E, 45W, 46, and the Saskatoon Wildlife Management Zone (SMZ). Zone 4 has a one antlerless mule deer bag limit, with all remaining zones having a two antlerless mule deer bag limit.

Hunters may hold up to a maximum of two antlerless mule deer licences and licence fees are $20 per licence.

The licences are available to Saskatchewan residents by phone at (306) 787-1288 or in person at the following Saskatchewan Environment offices for specific Wildlife Management Zones:

Cypress Hills Provincial Park – WMZs 3, 6, 7 Kindersley – WMZs 14W, 26 Leader – WMZs 8, 10, 11, 13W, 14W Maple Creek – WMZs 3, 6, 7, 8 North Battleford – WMZs 45W, 46 Saskatoon – WMZs 29E, SMZ Swift Current – WMZs 5, 6, 10

More information on these licences and the number available at each office can be found on the department's website at www.se.gov.sk.ca/fishwild, through the Big Game Draw application page.