Spring Turkey Permits Still Available

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

Turkey hunters who have not yet purchased a permit may still do so for any unit. A hunter can have only two turkey permits of any type for the spring season. Only one shotgun permit for the East Missouri Unit may be obtained, except that a limited landowner permit for the East Missouri Unit will not count toward the one shotgun-permit limit in that unit.

This year the state is divided into only two units, the West Unit, located west of U.S. Highway 81, and the East Missouri Unit, located east of U.S. Highway 81. The West Unit shotgun season dates are April 17 - May 23. The statewide archery season is open until May 23. The East Missouri Unit is split into two seasons. The early season is open until April 25, and then the late season will be April 26 - May 23.

Applicants accustomed to applying for permits in the old “East Unit” should check their 2004 spring turkey hunting unit map carefully to determine if new unit boundaries will affect which permit they need.

Permits may be purchased at any Commission permitting office, or online at www.outdoornebraska.org.

Nebraska resident turkey hunting permits for both shotgun and archery hunters are $21.00, non-resident permits are $66.00. A current Nebraska Habitat Stamp is also required of every resident 16 years of age or older who hunts game species or takes furbearers in Nebraska. All nonresidents, regardless of age, must have a Habitat Stamp to hunt game species or to harvest furbearers. Habitat Stamps may be purchased for $13 from Game and Parks Commission offices, online, or from permit vendors across the state. During the spring shotgun and archery turkey hunting seasons, hunters are allowed to take one male or bearded female turkey. Shooting hours are 30 minutes before sunrise to sunset.