South Dakota Deer and Fall Turkey Seasons Finalized

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

The South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Commission finalized both the West River Deer and Black Hills Deer hunting seasons at its June meeting.

The West River Deer season will open Nov. 14 in most areas and run through Nov. 29. Gregory and Mellette counties will have a split season with one running Nov. 7-10 and the other Nov. 23-29. Corson, Dewey and Ziebach counties will have a season running from Nov. 7-29.

In addition, the season will re-open from Dec. 26 through Jan. 3 and all unused and unsold licenses will be valid as antlerless permits. Last year there were over 28,000 licenses sold, and over 29,000 deer harvested, with a hunter success of 55 percent.

The application process for this season will open in late June, and the deadline for submitting applications for the first drawing will be July 24.

The Black Hills Deer season will be open from Nov. 1-30. There will be 500 “any deer” licenses available to residents and 40 to nonresidents. There will be 4,500 “any whitetail deer” licenses available to residents and 360 to nonresidents. In addition, there will be 400 “any antlerless deer” and 1,800 “antlerless whitetail” licenses available to residents, and 32 “any antlerless deer” and 144 “antlerless whitetail” licenses to nonresidents.

Last year, there were 8,451 resident licenses issued and 722 nonresident licenses. The harvest included 2,620 whitetail bucks, 1,824 whitetail antlerless deer, 138 mule deer bucks, and 56 antlerless mule deer. Hunters reported a 51 percent success rate.

The Commission also finalized the Fall Turkey season, open from Oct. 1 through Jan. 31.

The Fall Turkey season will include a new unit in western South Dakota that will consolidate all the previous prairie turkey units, with the exception of Stanley County, into one unit. There will be an unlimited number of two-tag licenses available to both residents and nonresidents, however no one may have more then five licenses for the Fall Turkey season.

The application process for the three seasons will open in late June. The deadline for application to the first drawing will be July 24.