Several Kentucky Hunting Seasons Begin in September

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

Many hunting seasons begin re-opening in September, including the Sept. 1 opener for doves and the Sept. 2 opening day for deer and turkey archery seasons. This Saturday and Sunday, August 26 and 27, the "Kentucky Afield" television program will give timely advice on making these seasons successful.

Host Tim Farmer meets with experts for tips on readying your bow for deer archery season, and how to tell if a dove field is legal, or baited illegally. Also, meet a hunter education instructor who adds a life-altering story to his lesson plan and a Marion County man who hunts snapping turtles with his feet. It’s a feature you must hear to believe.

"Kentucky Afield" is a production of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources. It is the longest continuously running outdoor television show in the nation. Kentucky Afield airs Saturday at 8:30 p.m. Eastern /7:30 p.m. Central and is repeated on Sunday at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central on KET.