Pennsylvania Hunters Can Purchase Special Spring Gobbler Tag Now
Pennsylvania hunters who would like the opportunity to harvest a second spring gobbler can purchase a second spring gobbler tag until midnight on April 20, according to Game Commission Executive Director Carl G. Roe.
In fact, thanks to the Pennsylvania Automated License System (PALS), hunters can purchase a second spring gobbler tag at any issuing agent or through the agency’s website.
Roe cautioned that those who plan to purchase the second spring gobbler tag through the agency’s website should expect to wait seven to 10 days for shipping, depending on the volume of other online purchases. Also, all sales of the second spring gobbler tag will cease at midnight on April 20, which is the day before the one-day season for junior license holders and those participating in the Mentored Youth Hunting Program.
“Prior to the implementation of PALS, hunters had to wait until Jan. 1 before submitting a license application for the second spring gobbler tag, and then wait for the agency to mail the license back to them,” Roe said. “The old process was necessary to enable the agency to spread out the administrative workload of processing and handling licenses for the fall hunting seasons.
“However, thanks to PALS, hunters can now purchase the second spring gobbler tag at any issuing agent and walk out of the store with the license in hand, or they can purchase it online and wait for it to be mailed to them within 10 days.”
Roe noted that all general hunting license holders are able to take one spring gobbler as part of their general hunting privileges; the second spring gobbler tag license affords those hunters interested in this additional opportunity to take a second spring gobbler. Hunters may only purchase one second spring gobbler license during a license year, as the season limit remains two spring gobblers, and the daily harvest is one bird per day.
“So, if you are looking for that application in your digest or online to mail in, you won’t find it,” Roe said. “You can just purchase the special spring gobbler license either through the Game Commission’s website or visit your local license issuing agent.”
Fees set by state law for the special license are $21.70 for residents and $41.70 for nonresidents. For online orders, there are additional shipping and handling costs.
The 2012 spring gobbler season is set to run from April 28-May 31. Legal hunting hours for the opening day of the spring gobbler season through the third Saturday (April 28-May 12) will be one-half hour before sunrise until noon; the remainder of the season (May 14-31) will have legal shooting hours of one-half hour before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset.
The one-day Spring Gobbler Youth Hunt will be held on April 21, and will run from one-half hour before sunrise until noon.