New Jersey's 2012 Deer Classic Winners

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

The Garden State Deer Classic is an annual event showcasing hunter entries in New Jersey’s Outstanding White-tailed Deer Program, which was initiated by the Division of Fish and Wildlife in 1964.

On Sunday, January 15, 2012 at the 23rd Annual Garden State Deer Classic, a large crowd was on hand for the awards program which honors the top three entries in each category for deer harvested during the 2010-2011 hunting seasons.

The 2012 Deer Classic was sponsored by the Division of Fish and Wildlife (DFW), the New Jersey State Federation of Sportsmen’s Clubs (NJSFSC), United Bowhunters of New Jersey (UBNJ), the New Jersey Outdoor Alliance Conservation Foundation and the Garden State Outdoor Sportsmen's Show.

Deer Classic Sponsor Representatives
Sponsor representatives of the 2012 Deer Classic:
Capt. Peter Grimbilas, NJOACF; Cindy Kuenstner DFW; Frank Virgilio, Pres, NJSFSC; Kurt Wille, UBNJ; and John Erndl, President, UBNJ.
Click to enlarge

For the complete list and actual scores, see the list of winners below. Click on images to enlarge. All Deer Classic photos courtesy of R. J. Wolven.

135 Pound Doe Club - Archery
135 lb. Doe Club Winner - Bow
Robert Staudt, Jr., 1st Place
200 Pound Buck Club - Archery
200 lb. Club Winners - Bow
Frank Sabatino, 1st Place (#1 All Time Heaviest)
Ken Baker (with son), 2nd Place
Darren Volker, 3rd Place
Typical Archery
Winners - Typical Archery
Charles Dyson, 1st Place
Michael Gehling, 2nd Place
Stephen D. Fox (with son), 3rd Place
Non-Typical Archery
Winner - Non-Typical Archery
Jason Hartman, 1st Place
Stephen Walkiewicz, 2nd Place
Steve DeAnnuntis, 3rd Place
Typical Crossbow
Winner - Typical Crossbow
Rob Winkel, 1st Place
Jack Kearns, 2nd Place
David Bojczak, 3rd Place
Non-Typical Crossbow
Winner - Non-Typical Crossbow
Nick Naperski, 1st Place
Robert Fisher, 2nd Place
Mark Swift, 3rd Place
Typical Shotgun
Winners - Typical Shotgun
Timothy Snyder, Jr., 1st Place
Eric Hensel, 2nd Place
Wally Hopkins, 3rd Place
Non-Typical Shotgun
Winners - Typical Shotgun
Justin Cardinal, 1st Place
Keith Malespina, 2nd Place
Typical Muzzleloader
Winners - Typical Muzzleloader
Jeffrey Krohn, 1st Place
Chris Schmidt, 2nd Place
Jake Reuter IV, 3rd Place
Non-Typical Muzzleloader
Winners - Non-Typical Muzzleloader
Timothy Camburn, 1st Place
Velvet - Typical Archery
Winners - Non-Typical Muzzleloader
Lou Cornine, 1st Place (Deer held by Mark Foster)


Click on the name of the winner below to open an image of the winning deer as displayed at the Deer Classic.


CategoryPlaceNameWeightCounty HarvestedDMZDate Harvested
135 Pound Doe Club - Archery1stRobert Staudt, Jr.138 lbs.Somerset1410/17/10
135 Pound Doe Club - Muzzleloader1stAlexander Reszutek152 lbs.Sussex212/20/10
200 Pound Buck Club - Archery1stFrank T. Sabatino242 lbs.Somerset1310/19/10
2ndKenneth W. Baker216 lbs.Morris369/15/10
3rdDarren Volker215 lbs.Essex3610/21/10

CategoryPlaceNameScoreCounty HarvestedDMZDate Harvested
Typical Archery1stCharles Dyson163 6/8Somerset1411/7/10
2ndMichael Gehling157 4/8Monmouth5010/14/10
3rdSteve Fox152 0/8Camden4912/31/10
Typical Archery - Velvet1stLou Cornine134 1/8Monmouth509/11/10
Non-Typical Archery1stJason R Hartman183 1/8Somerset1210/30/10
2ndStephen Walkiewicz182 1/8Monmouth5010/19/10
3rdSteve DeAnnuntis145 4/8Camden2510/22/10
Typical Crossbow1stRob Winkel155 4/8Mercer1711/3/10
2ndJack Kearns151 3/8Hunterdon811/7/10
3rdDavid Bojczak144 6/8Somerset1211/13/10
Non-Typical Crossbow1stNick Naperski162 4/8Monmouth5010/29/10
2ndRobert Fisher154 1/8Salem6311/23/10
3rdMark Swift150 2/8Monmouth5011/28/10
Typical Shotgun1stTimothy Snyder, Jr.140 5/8Hunterdon712/6/10
2ndEric Hensel138 2/8Atlantic4712/8/10
3rdWally Hopkins136 6/8Ocean171/10/11
Non-Typical Shotgun1stJustin Cardinal154 7/8Gloucester6512/9/10
2ndKeith Malespina144 2/8Mercer1412/8/10
Typical Muzzleloader1stJeffrey Krohn146 0/8Sussex111/29/10
2ndChris Schmidt145 4/8Monmouth501/10/11
3rdJake Reuter, IV138 6/8Gloucester3512/31/10
Non-Typical Muzzleloader1stTimothy Camburn149 4/8Ocean2111/29/10