Nebraska Firearm Hunter Education Classes Scheduled During June
The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission has scheduled two firearm hunter education classes in Lincoln during June.
Nebraska state law requires anyone 12 years of age or older, born on or after Jan. 1, 1977, to have successfully completed a state-certified firearm hunter education course prior to hunting with a firearm.
The first class will be at The Izaak Walton League, 10801 S. 134, Bennet, 7-9 p.m. on June 4, 5, 6, 11, 12, and 13. Students must attend all six classes to become certified. Preregistration is required.
The second class will be in the Hunter Education Center at the State Fairgrounds 8:30 a.m. - noon on June 18, 20 and 22. Students must attend all three classes to become certified. Preregistration is required.
Students must be 11 years of age to be certified by instructors. Those younger than 11 may attend, but will not be tested or certified. There is no maximum age limit for students and no charge for the course. Interested parents of youngsters taking the class are also encouraged to attend.
People who want to register for classes scheduled in Lancaster, Douglas or Sarpy counties may do so on the Commissions Web site at www.OutdoorNebraska.org. Go there, then click on NGPC Programs, then on Hunter Education, then on Available Classes, choose the class you want to attend and click on "Enroll in Class."
Those without Internet access or who live in other counties, may contact Tiffani Gerber at the Commissions headquarters, 471-5558, to register.