Nebraska Bowhunter Education Class

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

Nebraska law states that all persons 12 years of age or older, born on or after Jan. 1, 1977, must have successfully completed a state-certified bowhunter education course before hunting deer, pronghorn, elk, bighorn sheep or wild turkey in Nebraska with archery equipment.

The class will be made up of three sessions; July 28 beginning at 6:30 p.m. and July 29 from 8 a.m. - 1 p.m. at the Hunter Education Building at the Nebraska State Fair Grounds, and the third session will be July 30, 1-4 p.m. at the Prairie Bowmen archery range at 1010 Galloway Circle. Students must attend all three sessions to become certified. Pre- registration is required.

Students must be 11 years of age to be certified. Those younger than 11 may attend, but will not be tested or certified. There is no maximum age limit for students and no charge for the course. Interested parents of youngsters taking the class are also encouraged to attend.

People who want to register for classes scheduled in Lancaster, Douglas or Sarpy counties may do so on the Commissions web site at www.OutdoorNebraska.org. Go there, then click on NGPC Programs, then on Hunter Education, then on Bowhunter Education, then on Available Classes, choose the class you want to attend and click on "Enroll in Class."

Those without internet access or who live in other counties may contact Tiffani Gerber at Commission headquarters, (402) 471-5558, to register.