Montana Online Hunter Education - Field Courses in September
Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks now offers hunter education on the Internet to anyone 18 years and older. State law says everyone born after Jan. 1, 1985 must take hunter education before he, or she, can hunt in Montana. The online course, which costs $15, is a chance for an adult to take the course at his or her convenience.
Though the coursework is completed online, students born after Jan. 1, 1985, must also take a short field course to receive their certification card. Students born before this date are not required to take the field course.
At FWP's Region 4 in Great Falls, there are two remaining field course dates available this year for online students. Those dates are Sept. 10 and Sept. 17.
Registration is only available on the Internet to those who successfully complete the online course, and space is limited. For more information on the online course and field course times and locations, go to the education link at the FWP website, www.fwp.mt.gov.