Kentucky Afield Addresses Rising Ammunition Costs

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

With sporting ammunition prices on the rise, an expert takes aim at cutting costs through reloading this weekend, February 21 and 22 on "Kentucky Afield" television.

Custom reloading for rifle and shotgun cartridges and shells is both a time-honored handicraft and a means to keep serious shooters on target with their ammo budget. In Meade County, Walt Kloeppel steps us through the process, the equipment needed and the accuracy gained through a consistent firepower recipe that you control.

Also on the show, host Tim Farmer heads to the woods with father and son team Doug and Jeremiah Johnson. Crockett and Crow, two Walker hounds, join the fun for an Anderson County raccoon hunt. See how breeding excellence has led to canines that can see in the dark.

"Kentucky Afield" is a production of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources. It is the longest continuously running outdoor television show in the nation. The program airs Saturday at 8:30 p.m. Eastern /7:30 p.m. Central and is repeated Sunday at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central on KET 1 and on the web 24/7 at fw.ky.gov.