Delaware Announces Hunting License Fees
With the passage of House Bill 108, the cost of a Delaware hunting license is now $25 a year for residents and $130 a year for non-residents, effective July 1.
The new law also brings other changes, including a new guide license, a new junior hunting license and a $10 daily fee to be charged for waterfowl blinds and deer stands on all state wildlife management areas.
The new junior hunting license is now required for all individuals ages 13 through 15 except for those who are license exempt. Exemptions are made for hunters under the age of 13 who hunt with a lawful license holder and individuals who own or reside upon farms of at least 20 acres or more. The cost of the junior license is $5 for residents and $50 for non-residents. This new license changes the required age range for an adult hunting license to 16 to 64.
The new guide license costs $100 for residents and $300 for non-residents. Also, a non-resident three-day hunting license now costs $50.
According to Division of Fish and Wildlife Director Patrick Emory, the new fees were needed to offset projected deficits in the wildlife management and research programs, including a shortfall of approximately $368,000 for 2007-2008.
"Without the increase in fees the Division would have had to curtail many popular programs. The new fee package will generate needed income to continue current wildlife management programs while providing additional funds to support new research and recreational use activities," Emory said, noting the old fees were not generating enough income, especially with a decrease in the number of hunters.
"Even with the new increase, Delaware still has one of the lowest hunting license fees in the country," Emory added. Delaware's hunting license fees have not increased in more than 20 years.
For more information on Delaware hunting licenses, please call the Wildlife Section at 302-739-9912 or visit www.fw.delaware.gov and click on wildlife.