Alberta Honors 5 for Conservation Efforts

Send by email Printer-friendly version Share this

Five of Alberta's fish and wildlife champions have been honoured for their exceptional conservation efforts.

Ted Morton, Minister of Sustainable Resource Development, announced the names of those chosen as inductees into the Order of the Bighorn, Alberta's most distinguished wildlife conservation award.

Merv Kopperud (Medicine Hat), Tom Bateman (Lethbridge), Kelly Semple (Sangudo), Neil Downey (Red Deer), and Dr. Charles Bird (Erskine), are the newest members of the Order of the Bighorn.

"The five newest members of the Order of the Bighorn have demonstrated significant leadership in conservation," said Morton. "The Order of the Bighorn is proof not only that people can make a difference, but also that it takes people to make that difference happen."

The award recipients were honoured at a gala banquet in Edmonton on March 7. The reception was hosted and co-sponsored by Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Incorporated, Ducks Unlimited Canada, Devon Canada Corporation, Shell Canada Limited, TransCanada Pipelines Limited and the Alberta government.

The Alberta government established the Order of the Bighorn in 1982 to recognize outstanding contributions to fish and wildlife conservation by individuals, organizations and corporations. Customarily, recipients have demonstrated a commitment to conservation over many years. Including the five new awards, 108 of the honours have been awarded since the Order was established. Alberta's official mammal, the Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep, was the inspiration behind the name of the award.