13 replies [Last post]
jenseb99's picture
Weatherby vanguard 2 : .338 win mag vs .300 win mag

Hi,
I am going to buy my first rifle ever and I am pretty new to this (guns, hunting etc) but since I now live in the Yukon I figured it was the time to start what I wanted to do for years.
Anyway, so I know I want to buy the Weatherby Vanguard and I thought I knew I wanted a .300 win mag. But then today, the firearm officer (I got my licence today) suggested I should go for the .338 and I guess he knows what he is talking about, so now I am confused again.
So I was wondering if you guys could help me.
Considering
Recoil
Price of ammunition
killing power (I want an all north america games gun including bisons)
And versatility in terms of games (lets says from sheep to bison)
Distance
Accuracy.
What caliber would you choose?
Since I am knew to this, recoil is my biggest concern as it might be unpleasant and affect my accuracy right?
Thanks you very much
JSC

BikerRN's picture
Grand Slam Challenge Winner!
338 Win Mag

You need three different guns, maybe four.

1) .338 Win Mag

Great on game, large, and sufficient for dangerous bears. The downside is recoil. Recoil causes a flinch, which is the body's way of trying to escape the punishment the rifle will impart on you each time you fire it.

2) .308 Win

Good for varmints and deer sized game. It's a very forgiving cartridge if you reload, which I encourage. It has a wide range of bullets to select from and is an inherantly accurate caliber. Much less recoil than the .338 and thus you can practice more without developing the dreaded flinch. It is also cheaper to shoot, thus allowing more shooting practice for the same amount of money.

3) .22LR