19 replies [Last post]
Utah Antlerless Elk Hunt 614 - Wasatch Mountains-West

Hi!
We drew antlerless Elk tags for unit 614 ( Wasatch Mountains-West). Of all the hunt choices we selected, ofcourse, we get drawn for the one which I have no experience with.

Can anybody out there give me some good places to harvest some cow elk in this unit? As of right now, we know very little about the area, with the exception that there are supposed to be a lot of elk there.

This will be my wife and my sons first elk hunt also, so I am trying my best to make it a memorable one for them.

This is also a D.I.Y. hunt., so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Mike

I can point you in a few directions that may help....

There are a ton of elk up Spanish Fork Canyon up by Soldier Summit. About 4 weeks ago I was up there and the place was crawling with elk. I almost applied for a hunt up there but went with another unit. Now your hunt is only on the north side of the road and West side of the summit but there is still a bunch of elk in that area. Start walking the ridgelines, get away from the roads, and do a lot of glassing and you should find them.

There will be elk around Strawberry, up Hobblecreek, and a few up American Fork Canyon as well.

The one negative you have is that you will be hunting during the general elk season so you will have to be out with lots of hunters so keep in mind you may have to do some hiking and get away from the roads.

Thanks for the reply, Rather_be_hunting!
So, in your opinion, where would the Best area to concentrate on for opening? I realize nothing replaces first- hand scouting, and I intend on doing that as it gets a little closer. Just looking for some solid "areas" first.

rather_be_huntin wrote:
I can point you in a few directions that may help....