6 replies [Last post]
Optima 209 mag?

I am new to muzzleloding but since my state has several ML seasons on public land I'm going to try it. I thought about buying the Optima 209 Magnum with break action & 26" barrel. Has anybody shot one of these or own one? Also what caliber should i choose? any other suggestion on good muzzleloders for less than $300?

Optima 209 mag?

First thing you need to do is get a good handle on the laws in your state concerning muzzleloaders. For instance, I live in Colorado. Can't use optical sights, sabots, or pelletized powder here. For that reason, it would have been a foolish waste of money for me to buy a modern inline with a super-fast twist barrel.

Don't have to shoot roundballs, but conical lead bullets cannot be more than twice as long as their diameter. As such, anything with a twist faster than about 1:30 would force me to reduce the load in order to get decent precision.

And, of course, any rifle with no sights but just a place to mount a scope would have been silly.

So, what does your state allow? That's the place to start when picking a muzzleloader.

Optima 209 mag?

"Muzzle-loaders and Black Powder Handguns - 40 caliber or larger, provided however, that during special muzzleloader deer season, muzzleloaders shall be limited to those with open sights only (no scopes) and persons while participating in special muzzleloader deer season shall not possess any type of firearm other than a legal muzzle-loader" As stated in the regulation book for alabama under the firearms for deer section>

Optima 209 mag?

That's pretty wide open, with the only real restriction being no scopes. Having looked at the CVA 209, though, it looks like it is intended to be fired with a scope. The rear site is set way out on the barrel, in front of where a scope would mount.