No replies
backcountry3006's picture
GMU 371 Elk Advice Colorado

Hello!

I recently moved to Colorado because of my love for the outdoors and hunting and am trying to learn everything I can about elk hunting here. I am new to hunting elk but have done lots of scouting and research, it has basically consumed my life and it is all I think about. Last year was my first elk hunt here in CO and I missed the draw so had to settle with OTC tags. 

In 2015, I got a second and third season OTC tag and was hoping to hunt 371 starting at Rock Creek Trailhead. Second rifle, the snow was so bad that week I could not even make it to the parking lot. I ended up driving back down to the CPW office in Silverthorne and asked for advice. Ended up hunting an area in 37 up by Green Mountain reservoir that I knew nothing about, ATV's everywhere and no vantage points or anywhere to glass. I had a shitty GPS that I only had maps saved of GMU 371 so I couldn't even use that successfully. Camped in DEEP snow and ended up leaving the next day because I couldn't even find a water source.Saw/followed one elk track for a bit but it went straight up a mountain and I couldnt get up with my backpack. 

Third rifle I tried parking on Vail Pass and hiking in from there and saw tons of deer sign but no elk sign whatsoever. Later that week I hiked all the way up Officers Gulch to the treeline and did not see anything either. I think they had already migrated to lower elevations by this time.