11 replies [Last post]
JimmyB's picture
Garmin - Oregon 450?? Which GPS to get?

Lookin at getting a GPS unit for the first time. I kind of know what to look for but not everything.  Anyone have experience with the Garmin - Oregon 450?? Or does anyone have a different GPS unit they'd recommend?

Anyone help would be appreciated!

hunter25's picture
Grand Slam Challenge Winner!
I have no advice to give at

I have no advice to give at this time as I'm kinda in the same boat as you are. I'm planning to get a Garmin for sure but not sure which one. Cabela's runs sales on the Oregon and the Dakota frequently but the place that sells the maps I want recommend the 62s. Unfortunately that one costs more and i'm not sure whay makes it better. I'm still learning and if I figure anything out I'll post back.

I do think I would prefer buttons instead of a touch screen though as I always seem to end up having problems with those.

Here's the maps I'm looking at with all public land color coded for your gps. Not cheap but I think it would help a lot.

http://www.huntinggpsmaps.com/

expatriate's picture
Garmin Oregon 450T

I've got an Oregon 400T which is basically the same thing.  I love it.  My first GPS was a Magellan in '96, but I've been using Garmin for at least 10 years.  The Oregon is so intuitive I didn't even have to dig for instructions.  The display is terrific and it seems to track roads more accurately than the Vista.  The topo maps are easy to read and well done.  Navigation, controls...flawless.  It's small enough to slip in a pocket and you can buy a carabiner clip that locks onto the attach point on the back of the unit.  That's awesome for hooking onto a belt, pack strap, whatever.  Lots of extra little features that are neat to have, too.

Topgun 30-06's picture
Grand Slam Challenge Winner!
Looks like we can at least