7 replies [Last post]
Colorado unit 18/181

I put in for the Colorado left over draw after we did not draw.  We have drawn tags in the areas 18 and 181 for the first rifle season. 

Do anyone have any information about where to get started with either of these areas. We are doing some research on the available hunting land but there is nothing better than personal experience. I come from Western New York <near Buffalo> and want to make the most of our hunt. I have been hunting Colorado for the last 7 years. We are willing to do the leg work to figure out an area but need some sort of direction. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

We are looking to pack in where there is no ATV access <wilderness>. My group hunts on foot and we like to try an avoid easy access areas. Would you have any suggested areas to get started on researching access points for 18/181?
GooseHunter Jr's picture
Grand Slam Challenge Winner!
This guy has a lot of info on

This guy has a lot of info on those units.

http://www.elkheaven.com/hunter_info.htm

numbnutz's picture
congrats on your tags

congrats on your tags

Thanks for the well wishes! 

Thanks for the well wishes!  I emailed the guy from that sight and I am awaiting a response.  Looking forward to some information to start with.

ecubackpacker's picture
As far as I know, the only

As far as I know, the only wilderness is in Unit 18.  You have the Never Summer and Indian Peaks wilderness areas.  Never Summer is in the NE part of the unit adjoining RMNP and IP is in the SE part of the unit adjoining RMNP.  Never been to either one, so I can't be of more help with those units.  I would suggest getting a Colorado Atlas & Gazetteer which can be ordered from Cabelas, Amazon.com, etc.  I have a hiking book somewhere with info on trails and other useful info, just can't locate currently. No wilderness in 181. Good hunting

Anyone with infor on Never Summer/Indian Peaks Acccess