1 reply [Last post]
Location: Colorado
Joined: 07/09/2006
Posts: 260
Colorado Democrats pushing for a gun tax in Colroado

Friday, April 06, 2007

On Wednesday, April 11, Senate Bill 109 is scheduled to be heard by the Senate Appropriations Committee. SB 109, introduced by State Senator Ron Tupa (D-18), will impose a gun tax prior to the purchase or transfer of a firearm. This is just another tactic by anti-gunners to keep law-abiding gun owners from owning a firearm. Please contact the members of the Senate Appropriations Committee today and respectfully urge them to vote “NO” on SB 109 and reject this extra burden placed on your Second Amendment rights.

The members of the Senate Appropriations Committee are:

Chairman Abel Tapia (D-3)

(303) 866-2581
abel.tapia.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Maryanne “Moe” Keller, Vice-Chairman (D-20)
(303) 866-4856
moe.keller.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Greg Brophy (R-1)
(303) 866-6360
greg@gregbrophy.net

State Senator Peter Groff (D-33)
303) 866-4864
peter.groff.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Ted Harvey (R-30)
303) 866-4881
ted.harvey.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Steve Johnson (R-15)
(303) 866-4853
steve.johnson.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Mike Kopp (R-22)
(303) 866-4859
mike.kopp.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Stephanie Takis (D-25)
(303) 866-4855
stephanie.takis.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Jennifer Veiga (D-31)
(303) 866-4861
ennifer.veiga.senate@state.co.us

State Senator Sue Windels (D-19)
303) 866-4840
senatorwindels@comcast.net

bitmasher's picture
Offline
Moderator
Location: Colorado
Joined: 02/27/2002
Posts: 2973
Colorado Democrats pushing for a gun tax in Colroado

FYI: The Colorado is a POC (the CBI) state. The CBI has said for years it runs in the red and says a background check costs the state about $15 per check. Bills have been introduced in the past to push the cost of the check to the purchaser, these attempts have failed. Colorado is not required to be a POC state, rather federal NICS could be used to meet the conditions of the brady bill.

In 1999 the Colorado legislature closed the CBI background check and FFL holders went to the NICS system. 3 months after the change, Simon Gonzales legally purchased a handgun from a dealer and proceeded to murder his three daughters in a rampage. Gonzales had a fresh restraining order placed on him by his wife, under the CBI system Gonzales most likely would have been denied the purchase. NICS was unaware of the restraining order because it is not updated as rapidly with local restraining orders. A few months later, ignited by the Gonzales murders, Colorado went back to being a POC state, and a perennial battle over who should pay for the background checks continues.

As a side note, Gonzales ex-wife sued the city of New Castle for failing to act on the restraining order and took the case all the way to the supreme court and lost. All around it was a tragic and challenging case.

I'm interested to see if Ritter will sign the non-resident CCW law. Personally I don't think he should.

Related Forum Threads You Might Like