5 replies [Last post]
BLM Land in unit 214 CO

There is a chunk of BLM land outside of Clark that I've been eyeing for a few years now. According to maps there should be public access to it. However when you drive past it, there are no signs indicating public access. Do you know who I can contact in the area to figure out if there is public access? A warden or BLM manager?

Thanks for any info.

silvertip-co's picture
I had same question one day

I had same question one day so went to Saguache Colorado BLM office. Here's how it works...

BLM land is public land all the time, even if its leased for grazing.  Access is NOT restricted by fences( close the gate). Ranchers however will dispute these facts and even shoot at you( nw COlorado et al) , but the fact is  they only lease the grazing rights, access is still public 24-7-365( may be a dirty lil secret ranchers dont want us to  know). He gave me his card and told me to  call him and 911 if I get shot at.

HOWEVER out of respect for ranchers and their admired(by me) profession I always try to locate the ranch house ( never an easy task) and ASK first, lacking that I call a local BLM office. One ranch I antelope hunted on in 2008 has been leased for over 50 yrs, but the rancher knew well it was NOT his land and only tried to control access so guys ( 150 of them) didnt get shot. Since the BLM  is a large agency they have offices in most counties in COlo and they are listed on their website  www.blm.gov  then look up the CO offices.

Good luck.

exbiologist's picture
thats exactly right

One thing I look for to verify that the piece of land I'm looking it is BLM and not private when I don't have a map with UTM grids on it is to see if the NO TRESPASSING signs abruptly stop at the parcel.  Even more likely to be BLM if there's no fence whatsoever.  BLM land is very rarely posted, so make sure you have a good map, not just the Delorme Atlas.

have gps?