8 replies [Last post]
375 Ruger

I am going to South Africa for my 2nd trip this July. I will be hunting plains game again with my primary goal being Eland and Zebra. I have been shooting the new 375 Ruger African for several months now and feel very comfortable with it. Im using 270 Barnes TSX bullets in front of 72gr of Varget powder. Does anyone on the forum have any experience with this caliber? My 2nd rifle will be a 338 Win Mag. for most of the other species. Both scopes are Leopold VariX 111 1.75 x 6 with the heavy duplex.

375 Ruger

i have not used a .375 ruger, but have shot eland, zebra, impala, gazelle, oryx, hartebeest, and buffalo with a .375 H&H, using 270 grain or 300 grain bullets. good shot placement is a big help. i used factory federal loads and had no problems. good hunting.

375 Ruger

I think the reason I like this caliber is the fit and feel of the Hawkeye rifle. I have other 375 HH's but I just like the way this rifle feels. Almost like an economy custom rifle. Brass is just now becoming available and the loading data is in the new editions so I think it will catch on.

375 Ruger

I bought one (375Ruger) not long after they hit the market. IMHO it is a fine caliber/cartridge and though not my first choice as a DG round surely it will suffice even on elephants if needed. For PG IMHO it is more than what is needed for even the largest eland.I've killed a few of them with 30-06 and one with a 270
I own one Mauser action 375H&H, that was my late father's. I own and find the 338WM more than adequate for my hunting needs on all PG with 225 gr handloads.
Why did I buy the 375 Ruger? It was one of those..."I just got to get myself one of them visits to the gun shop" and again IMHO the African is a fine looking rifle that can be packed as a backup gun to my 458WM on my next buffalo trip.