17 replies [Last post]
.308 Winchester vs .300 Weatherby Magnum

I recently read a statement by a respected gunsmith wherein he stated that, for the

first 300 yards, the .308 Win. was just as good as the .300 Weatherby mag..

Does anyone have any comments on that?  I have experience with the .308 Win.

and it has never let me down on killing deer-size animals within that range, sometimes

I may have let it down.   I have zero experience with the .300 Weatherby or any .300

mag.

hunter25's picture
Grand Slam Challenge Winner!
First of all other than paper

First of all other than paper ballistics I have no real experience with either of the two. But in normal hunting I would think he was talking about the trajectory and just basic stopping power. 300 yards is not really a long distance and the .308 would be fine for most all game.

But their is no question in my mind that the .300 will hit harder at any distance near or far and is definately better at long range.

Critter's picture
Grand Slam Challenge Winner!Moderator
There is no comparison

There is no comparison between the two except to say that they are both .30 caliber.  The .308 Winchester performs best with bullets from 150 gr up to 168 gr.  The 300 Weatherby just starts to come into its own with the 180 grain bullets which would kill the .308 in velocity and energy.  Now how dead is that elk or deer that you shoot with either at 300 yards he wouldn't know the difference, that is unless you make a marginal shot and then where you have a wounded animal and a long tracking job on your hands with the .308 the Weatherby just might of punched a hole clear through the animal with a good wound channel and a short tracking job.  Now if you drop that range down to 100-200 yards then they may just be close to equal but the extra power behind the Weatherby still gets the nod.

I figure the respected