8 replies [Last post]
30.06 loads

I am relatively new to reloading and my grandfather loaded me some 30.06 rounds on my last visit to Idaho using 165 gr hornady sst bullets my concern lies in the fact that he used 58 grains of 4831 powder and I have been told that he over loaded by 3 grains and I don’t want to have my brand new rifle blow up the first time I shoot it so if anyone could give me feed back on whether he used to much powder or not it would be deeply appreciated

30.06 loads

I am very new to reloading as well so i will tell you what everyone has told me. Get yourself a very good reloading manual and do not exceed their max load numbers. In your case with your grandfather loading them up for you i would tear them down and do it yourself it's not worth gettin hurt over a few handloads

30.06 loads

Your grandfathers loads may be perfectly fine... for HIS rifle. A max load in one rifle is totally different than another rifle. All rifles are unique and as such react to pressures different. I would never use somebody else's handloads in my rifle without first starting from the low charge level and working up slowly while checking for signs of pressure such as bulged primers and stuck casings to name just two. BE CAREFUL with other peoples handloads... you don't want to ruin your rifle but most important you don't want to die!!!!

bitmasher's picture
30.06 loads

Chester has good advice for you. I would not use those overloads in your rifle. Instead, most manuals will offer a starting load that is safe for nearly any rifle, then you can start working up from there, grain by grain.

Good Luck!

30.06 loads

You can never be too safe. If there is even a question of the load, then do NOT use it.

30.06 loads