6 replies [Last post]
2016 First Rifle Unit 4 Colorado Questions

newbie here, never been out west before so its all going to be a learning experience.  Four of us drew tags for the first rifle season in unit 4.  I have everything planned out from where we will stay for the drive out and where we will camp. I also have a few maps that I have picked out spots that look like they should be good in the routt national forest, but I have no clue how to hunt it.  With the amount of hunters that everyone keeps talking about would it be better to just sit the first few days?   If its anything like PA, most guys will only go about 1 mile off the road and give up around noon.  I guess im just looking for a hunting style that has worked for others in the 1st season. Or any other suggestions for hunting unit 4 in colorado would be appreciated. We will be camped on the northwest corner of the routt.

Thanks

vinny217's picture
I wouldn't sit the first

I wouldn't sit the first couple of days that's when most the elk are killed up there. Once they get gun shy it's a lot tougher up there. PM I have a buddy who has been hunting up there for about 20 years.

Be prepared to see a lot of

Be prepared to see a lot of people. The key is finding the refuge areas where people arent hunting or escape routes where the elk are traveling to get away from the traffic. Easily accessed trailheads and horse trails are not your friend up there. I have hunted up there for over a decade. 

My experience is that most folks fit into one of three categories; on the road, 1-2miles in on foot, and 2-5 miles in on horseback. there are enough roads up there that being more than 5 miles away from a road isnt likely.

Sometimes that refuge area is in nasty timber wihtin the first mile off of a road. Sometimes its high up on a mountainside tucked into timber pockets surrounded by scree fields.