16 replies [Last post]
hellomcfly's picture
2010 CO archery elk

Looking for a new OTC unit to hunt archery elk. Any good ideas? just wanna see some elk

Re: 2010 CO archery elk

I have only hunted in CO or anywhere for elk once. So dont listen to much that I have to say. I was looking online and seen that archery success for GMU 40 was close to 60% last year. If i understood what i was reading (that is a big if) that sounds really good to me!

Again, i am new to anything out west so do your own research. Good luck!

elkkill06's picture
Grand Slam Challenge Winner!

hellomcfly,

How far are you willing to to travel? Most of the units on the west and southwest side of the state hold decent elk and are easier to find archery season. Let me know and I can help you out.

inthehollar welcome to BGH. Thumbs up Its a good place to learn.

exbiologist's picture

Good luck getting a tag in unit 40. It doesn't take as many points as some of the trophy units, but it certainly isn't OTC.
I'll critique any unit you bring up, but I won't suggest a unit without parameters (and OTC is a little too broad)

elkkill06 wrote:
hellomcfly,

How far are you willing to to travel? Most of the units on the west and southwest side of the state hold decent elk and are easier to find archery season. Let me know and I can help you out.

inthehollar welcome to BGH. Thumbs up Its a good place to learn.

Thanks elkkill, I just ran across this site yesterday. I have learned lots already. I have a life long buddy that lives out west and I am planning a bow hunt with him this fall. He knows a lot more about this than i do but i am not counting on his knowledge alone. This site here has been a great tool so far!

hellomcfly's picture