26 replies [Last post]
2006 Ohio Gun Season

Anyone having any luck??

I already have 2 deer this year through archery and youth season so i was a driver all week. On Friday my brother shot a doe in the gut and it ran for 400 yards before we lost the blood trail. Then on Saturday morning a friend shot a doe on our property and it ran for 350 yards before we lost the trail. He shot another one on Sunday that we couldnt find and my brother shot a nice 8 point that also wasnt found. 4 shot deer that we couldnt find = not very good.

Anybody have any special tips on tracking deer??

All the deer just seemed to stop bleeding after awhile.

All 4 were shot with 20 gauges.

2006 Ohio Gun Season

Not trying to sound like a buthead here....But it sounds like ya'll need more time on the range and less time trying to shoot at running deer...A 20 gauge slug should knock the living heck out a deer if hit in the vitals and should go no more than 100 yards at BEST...My daughter shot most all her deer with a 20 gauge and Most all of them dropped in thier tracks!! I dont think any went more than 30 yards to my recollection. She never shoots at a running deer cuzz she knows Id smack her HARD in the head for it. Too many ways to mess up like that for one...And its simply too easy to get a deer to stop for a couple seconds. Gut shot deer are hard to trail because the guts clot the wound up and leave little to no blood. If allowed in your state and you continue with this mode of hunting, I would concider investing in a tracking dog NOT A DEER CHASER but a TRACKER for wounded deer. Several states allow this as long as the dog is leashed and under control, NOT HOUNDING. You owe it to the deer to give it every possible effort to recover them. But personally I would rather see them invest in LEARNING HOW TO SHOOT and stop guttin them. Just my lil old opinion and Im sure there will be many agreeing with me on that.

2006 Ohio Gun Season