8 replies [Last post]
Don Fischer's picture
140's that work

Found that the 140gr Sierra MK work great in the rifle. They are so far off the lands, they stop for coffee on the way but for some reason seem to shoot really well. Have several 5 shot group's so far under 1/2"! And, I'm just getting started, probally just got lucky out of the gate! If the weather holds today I'm gonna go try them at 400.

Oh, built a new portable bench two. Not quite as sturdy as the one I'm useing but much more portable. Built some like it years ago but re-did this one with much heavier legs and a bit bigger table. Post a photo later.

140's that work

How far off the lands are we talking ,Young Man ? I've been seating my 150 grainers .062 off the lands since thirty years.
The bullets are stopping for coffee I understand, might be a good time to consider increasing the powder charge

Good Shooting Thumbs up

Don Fischer's picture
140's that work

Hammer,

Got a new Sierra manual and found out I'm 3 grs below max by thier figures. Going up today and see what happen's. Guessing that long bullet has a fairly short bearing surface that is somehow lowering pressure. Have noticed that pressure is awful mild in what I'm shooting. Been getting just under 2800fps but Sierra say's I should get closer the 2950 fps, we'll see.

Measured the jump just a bit ago and I'm jumping .050", not as bad as I was thinking but the bullet is seated out quite aways, less than 1 calibre into the neck. Don't really care so long as it's shooting well. Two 5 shot group's yesterday at 400 yds right around 3" and I think it'll do better as I improve.