Wisconsin on Its Way to Become 49th State With Concealed Carry
Currently Wisconsin and Illinois are the only states that have a ban on carrying concealed weapons. The Wisconsin Assembly has moved forward and passed the bill to legalize concealed carry guns with a 68-27 vote. The Governor will need to sign it, and then once published it will take effect on the first day of the fourth month after publishing, so possibly October 1st or November 1st.
To obtain a conceal carry permit will require training and passing a background check. Wisconsin residents must be over 21 years of age. A 5 year permit will cost $50. The fee will be used for extra jobs, and costs involved for creating the database of permit holders, which is estimated at about $3 million for the first 2 years. The database would not be available to the public under the state's public record law. Permits from other states would allow the holder to carry in Wisconsin as long as they had passed a training class. When carrying a concealed weapon, the holder must have their permit and photo id available. There will also be restrictions on where a concealed weapon can be taken.
Some religious groups and other groups have the right to post signs banning concealed weapons in their buildings. Some churches would like the legislature to rewrite the bill banning concealed weapons from the churches. Private individuals and groups that allow concealed carry on their property would have blanket immunity from any legal liability from that decision. Those who post signs prohibiting concealed weapons would not receive that immunity. This makes it difficult for some in deciding whether to post a sign or not.
Darren LaSorte, a lobbyist for the National Rifle Association, praised the Legislature for finally acting on the concealed carry legislation. "For the first time, violent criminals are going to have to fear that their next attack might be their last," he said. From JSOnline.